ICC T20 world cup 2024 Schedule and Rules

The T20 cricket madness is just about to start as the T20 world cup 2024 is going to start in the USA and Caribbean. First match will be played in Texas between the host USA vs their neighbour Canada on 2nd June, 2024. There will be four groups of five teams in the first 20-team group stage, which runs until June 18 and consists of at least one game per day, but usually two or three. The Super 8s begin on June 25 and go for two days each, culminating in the two semi-finals on June 27. Barbados will host the final on Saturday, June 29.

ICC T20 world cup 2024 Schedule and Rules

England is the defending champion as they won the T20 world cup 2022 by beating Pakistan in Melbourne, Australia. 

In this Ninth Edition of the T20 World Cup, there will be 20 teams participating in the group stages which would

be the highest number of teams competing in this 20-over mega event. There are four groups with 5-teams in each group. 

Winners of Eight T20 World Cups:

In total Eight Men’s T20 world cups have been played till now. First world cup was played back in 2007 and India was the first team to be T20 champion under MS Dhoni captaincy whereas Eight T20 world cup was played in 2022 in Australia where England was the champion team under Jos Buttler captaincy. Below is the list of all T20 Champions year wise;

  1. 2007: India

  2. 2009: Pakistan

  3. 2010: England

  4. 2012: West Indies 

  5. 2014: Sri lanka

  6. 2016: West Indies 

  7. 2021: Australia

  8. 2022: England

T20 World Cup 2024 Venues:

With sixteen of the fifty-five matches to be played in the US, the tournament will be cricket’s first major international event held in the US. The three locations for the games are Grand Prairie Stadium in Texas, Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York, and Central Broward Park & Broward County Stadium in Florida. For the competition, a stadium was built in New York, complete with a pitch sent in from Adelaide, Australia, and makeshift stands

39 matches will be played in the Caribbean in a total of 6 stadiums. Names of these stadiums are Antigua & Barbuda (Sir Vivian Richards Stadium), Barbados (Kensington Oval), Guyana (Guyana National Stadium), Saint Lucia (Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium), St Vincent & the Grenadines (Arnos Vale Playing Field) and Trinidad & Tobago (Brian Lara Cricket Academy). Barbados will host the Grand final of this T20 world cup on Saturday, 29th June.


T20 World Cup 2024 Rules:

Rule 1: 20 Over are mandatory for each innings to be bowled to the batting side unless the batting side gets all out before a quota of 20 Overs.


Rule 2: Total time allocated for a single match would be 3 hours and 10 minutes in which each side will have 1 hour and 25 minutes to bat and bowl respectively whereas 20 minutes are for the innings break.

Rule 3: Every inning will start with 6 overs powerplay where the fielding side will bowl with field instructions in place as they will be allowed to have only 2 fielders outside the 30-yard circle in the first 6 overs. 

Rule 4: This T20 world cup would be the first with StopWatch rule. Under this rule the fielding side must be ready to bowl second over in one minute time from the previous over.

Rule 5: Each side would be given with 2 Decision Reviews in each innings.

Rule 6: If scores levels after at the end of 20th over then both sides will go Super over and the side with higher score will be the winner. If score ties again in super over then both teams will again play another super over and the same will continue until one team comes out as a winner.

Rule 7: In Group stages if a match is affected by bad weather then to decide a winner, there must be a minimum of 5-over gameplay. But for semi-finals and final, minimum overs required to decide a match winner would be 10 overs each for both teams. If a match is affected on the half way and can’t be played then the DLS method will be used to decide a winner. 

Semifinals and the Final will also have 1 reserve day if weather does not clear on the same day.

Leave a Comment