IPL 2024 Champions | Kolkata Knight Riders | 17th Edition

IPL 2024 Final match was played at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai on Sunday, 26 2024. The whole eyes were on Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in this all important game and guess what it was the mighty KKRs who grabbed this opportunity with both hands as they come out victorious becoming IPL champions for the 3rd time at conclusion of this 17th edition of world famous t20-league.



Match Summary:


Thanks to KKRs bowling unit who got Pet Cummins Sunrisers Hyderabad out early in piece forcing them to just score 113 runs batting first and then while chasing Venkatesh Iyer’s brilliant fifty made it all easy for Shreyas Iyer side to be champions for the third time in this league. Kolkata Knight Riders chased this small target with 8 wickets in hand and 57 balls to spare. This final match was the shortest of all 74 matches in this year’s IPL with only 29 overs being bowled in the match.

IPL Champions’ List:


IPL 2024 was the 17th edition of this world famous league which was started way back in 2008. As this year’s IPL has been won by Shreyas Iyer’s Kolkata Knight Riders, the first edition of IPL was won by Shane Warn’s Rajasthan Royals back in 2008. Here is the list of all the Champions and the runners-up teams;





1- 2024 (Champion: Kolkata Knight Riders, Runner-up: Sunrisers Hyderabad)


2- 2023 (Champion: Chennai Super Kings, Runner-up: Gujrat Titans)


3- 2022 (Champion: GujaratTitans, Runner-up: Rajasthan Royals)


4- 2021 (Champion: Chennai Super Kings, Runner-up: Kolkata Knight Riders)


5- 2020 (Champion: Mumbai Indians, Runner-up: Delhi Capitals)


6- 2019 (Champion: Mumbai Indians, Runner-up: Chennai Super Kings)


7- 2018 (Champion: Chennai Super Kings, Runner-up: Sunrisers Hyderabad)


8- 2017 (Champion: Mumbai Indians, Runner-up: Rising Pune Supergiants)


9- 2016 (Champion: Sunrisers Hyderabad, Runner-up: Royal Challengers Bangalore)


10- 2015 (Champion: Mumbai Indians, Runner-up: Chennai Super Kings)


11- 2014 (Champion: Kolkata Knight Riders, Runner-up: Kings XI Punjab)


12- 2013 (Champion: Mumbai Indians, Runner-up: Chennai Super Kings)


13- 2012 (Champion: Kolkata Knight Riders, Runner-up: Chennai Super Kings)


14- 2011 (Champion: Chennai Super Kings, Runner-up: Royal Challengers Bangalore)


15- 2010 (Champion: Chennai Super Kings, Runner-up: Mumbai Indians)


16- 2009 (Champion: Deccan Chargers, Runner-up: Royal Challengers Bangalore)


17- 2008 (Champion: Rajasthan Royals, Runner-up: Chennai Super Kings)

IPL Top Teams:


IPL has just completed its 17th edition. There are teams which have performed extraordinarily and are indeed the most valuable teams in the world of T20 cricket. Here is the list of teams who have been champions in these 17th editions;


1- Mumbai Indians (5 Times Champion)

2- Chennai Super Kings (5 Times Champion)

3- Kolkata Knight Riders (3 Times Champion)

4- Sunrisers Hyderabad (1 Time Champion)

5- Deccan Chargers (1 Time Champion)

6- Rajasthan Royals (1 Time Champion)

7- Gujarat Titans (1 Time Champion)


Mumbai Indians (MI) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the most impactful teams as both have won the title 5 times each. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is following them with 3 trophies and of course their 3rd was this year’s successful campaign. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is one team that has great potential to be a champion team but still they have to win their first title.


Shahrukh Khan on KKR Champion:


Indian Bollywood star who is known as King Khan is the Franchise owner of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and was supporting his team in the final along with his whole family.


The outstanding performance displayed by the KKR team made the whole family excited as this was the 3rd time Khan’s team has won the title. After the match Shahrukh Khan kissed Gautam Gambhir’s forehead who is team mentor. 




In 2012, when they last won the title at the same Chidambaram Stadium, it was Gautam Gambhir who was captain of Kolkata Knight Riders.


Leave a Comment